Personal

Optimism Becoming Obsolete

“It makes a big difference in your life when you stay positive.”- Ellen Degeneres

Where has the optimism in peoples lives gone? Have we forgotten as a society to look at the glass as half full instead of half empty and draining fast? Rarely do I walk through a public place and see bright smiles on peoples faces. Everyone is so negative and they strive for that one negative comment that will engage in a ranting conversation. When did our country become so manifested in anger, rage, and negativity? Our country is so focused on the negative events that happen daily in the world when in all actuality, we should showcase the individuals that are making a difference. I will never see the local grocer who volunteers his nights at the local community center on the news because it doesn’t instill fear or pain in society. Why do we live in a world that fears so much and loves so little? Fear is not a pleasant feeling and it makes me sick to my stomach. I went to CNN.com and checked out the top 5 stories, here are the titles: LAPD kills man on ground, teen killed after Facebook fight, woman’s execution back on, 1 and 3 children at risk of hunger, and her texts urged friend to commit suicide. Would you read any of these to lift up your day? I know I wouldn’t.

It seems like everyone has something to complain about. Traffic’s bad! This weather sucks! I hate my roommate! I can’t pass a single class! I have noticed this recently in my academic classes as everyone has something to say about each professor and how they ‘hate coming to their class’ or find the class ‘pointless and time-wasting.’ Has it never occurred that these professional people have been in the field for numerous years and that they are here to spread their knowledge and to prepare us for the next chapter of our lives. Instead of complaining about the six page assessment, think about ways that you can integrate this into your interview or put it in a professional file for later reference. Our professors are full of knowledge and resources for us later in life. Not everything that we do in college or any workshop is worthless and not valuable. I agree that some professors give extensive homework or busy work, but it is all done with a purpose. There are many ways to look at a negative situation in a positive light. Remember that when you’re sitting in traffic, turn on the tunes and jam to some music. Listen to an audiobook to pass the time or call a family member that you haven’t talked to in a while. If you think the weather sucks, instead of moping around about it and making everyone else’s day negative, think about ways to enjoy the weather that is given to you. Raining? Sit inside and watch movies, start a hobby, or go jump in the puddles. Snowing? Go outside and build a snowman, drink cocoa, or just enjoy watching the snow fall. Storming? Think about how the lightening and rain is going to make the grass so green and the smell that comes after will be breathtaking. Everything has a positive twist, you just have to take the time to realize that everything has some good. Death is something that hits home for me as I have dealt with death more recent than not. Instead of crying in the corner about the fact that they are gone, I reflect on the person that they were and the way that they influenced me. I reflect on the fact that I was very privileged to know them, love them, and learn from them. There isn’t a fishing trip where grandpa isn’t brought up. We don’t mourn in the boat of his death but laugh because of his canny one liners that resonate with us to this day. When my mother was diagnosed with cancer, it was terrifying. Instead of feeling bad about the situation my family and I were in, I stuck to the positive and decided that we needed to decorate the room to make it more like home. Being positive is what kept our family strong during this hard time. Something to think about is that we need optimism on the inside to keep us running, but we also need to show it on the outside, too.

But what is optimism? Why should we be optimistic if nothing great is happening in our lives? Just because you didn’t win the lottery or you didn’t get that big role that you tried out for doesn’t mean you can’t be optimistic. Sometimes being optimistic is feeling optimism for other people and being happy for someone. Our society is centered around personal growth and personal achievement that we forget about the people that stand next to us. We forget that there are 7 billion people in this world that are doing great things every day and they are continually going unnoticed. In my opinion, optimism is a contagious chemical that oozes off people. Look at someone and smile. Just do it. To a stranger or someone you know, just smile. No words need to be exchanged but the fact that you initiated the smile and the optimistic vibe, that person will most likely smile which will in turn get someone else to smile too. Smiles are a chain reaction, similar to yawning.

What being positive has done to me is beyond explanation. It takes a while to train your brain to think optimistic after flooding it with negative thoughts, but that doesn’t mean it cannot be done. It took me a solid month to get out of my old ways of complaining and move to admiring the world around me. I started to look at the ways the world has impacted me in a positive light and how lucky I am to be where I am today. We are all lucky to be where we are today. We are all lucky to be living in this world and living among the variety of people that are here. If the world was all the same, it would be so boring. What really changed me was reading Ellen Degeneres’ book Seriously… I’m Kidding. She laid everything out perfectly about her positive lifestyle. She also throws a bunch of puns throughout the book, which makes it a comical read. Since reading that book, I have made strives to live a more positive life full of optimism. This optimism has helped me get through the hardest semester of my life, next to student teaching. If I was as negative as my classmates about the assignments and professors, I would detest going to class and slack on assignments because they would not seem worthy of my effort. It is my optimism that is keeping me afloat this semester. I allowed myself to be happy and positive. I have allowed my body to feel at ease with the world around me and know that everything will be okay. Allow your body to be okay with happiness that is not paired with a high-strung stimulus like an amusement park, a night out with the girls, or receiving gifts. Allow the smallest thing to turn your day around.

Love life and love yourself. Allow yourself to be happy! Help keep optimism alive in this world of terror, fear, and insecurity.

One thought on “Optimism Becoming Obsolete

  1. You hit the nail right on the head. Where has the optimism gone??? I refuse to let my optimism slip away, and people treat me like I’m the crazy one. What gives?

    Like

Leave a Reply

